Universidade do Minho

Short Description and Organisation's Structure

The Universidade do Minho is a public portuguese university, with administrative and financial autonomy, which has been created in 1973 and started its academic activity in the academic year of 1975/1976. The revised version of the statutes of the University has been published on Diário da República-Despacho-Normativo 25/00, from the 23rd May 2000. The University organises its functions, since its foundation, according to a so called "matrix management model", based on the interaction between the projects ant the resource units.


The University central offices are located in Braga, at the Largo do Paço. Most teaching and research takes place at either Gualtar Campus, in Braga or Azurém Campus, in Guimarães.


In the academic year of 2002/2003, there are over 17 000 students and 1 238 academic staff, including 534 with PhD. The number of permanent staff is presently 595.


The University is organized in 9 schools and an autonomous department, the School of Health Sciences, the School of Sciences, the School of Economics and Management, the School of Engineering, the Institute of Social Sciences, the Institute of Education and Psychology, the Institute of Arts and Human Sciences, the Institute of Child Studies, the School of Law and the Autonomous Department of Architecture.


The Rector of the University is Professor António José Marques Guimarães Rodrigues. The Rectory is also integrated by three Vice-Rectors: Professor Aníbal Augusto Alves, Professor Manuel José Magalhães Gomes Mota, Professor Acílio Silva Estanqueiro Rocha. The Pro-Rectors are Professor Maria Irene Magalhães Assunção Montenegro and Professor José Fernando Gomes Mendes.


Within the field of the Research and Development supported by the European Community, in 2001, the University has been able to assure the execution of 15 projects under the IV Framework Program of R&DT from the European Commission, namely under the TMR, Brite-Euram, CRAFT, Mast, TSER and INCO. 22 projects have been approved within the V Framework Program of R&DT, namely under the IST, LIFE, GROWTH, ENV and IHP. The University is also involved in projects under the support from Interreg, Rafael and Eureka Programs and several international cooperation agreements, representing a relevant contribution to the internationalization of the University activities.